RETRO-2038 cover art

eMEGO 172 / COH


  • 1. Retrotech Overture
  • 2. Bugs Build A House
  • 3. Time To Time
  • 4. On Wings Of Gravity
  • 5. Aniki
  • 6. Disco Discrete
  • 7. Vainio
  • 8. Method As Fun




The second COH release on Editions Mego is a true delight to behold, inviting as it does an exploration of electronic sound in minimalism, futuristic pop and the uncharted territories inbetween. Ranging from digital updates of Giorgio Moroder\'s pulse experiments to menacing lingering LF tones, with occasionally scattered outbursts of jovial noise and glimpses of tonal interstellar disco, RETRO-2038 precisely engraves each of its components with a melodic line and a rhythmical pattern, often beatless.

The album as whole is a work of profound playfulness, at once whimsical and deeply seductive. It opens a crisp crystalline cosmos of its own, rich with unknown objects dancing through ominous orbital auras and smooth gravitatonal fields. Like a cyber-organic spacecraft moving through dark matter, RETRO-2038 looks back with a warmth as it heads towards its future with abiding optimism.

After all, the future can't wait.