Sheer Hellish Miasma cover art

eMEGO 053 / Kevin Drumm

Sheer Hellish Miasma

  • 1. Impotent Hummer (13:01)
  • 2. Turning Point (3:33)
  • 3. Hitting The Pavement (19:56)
  • 4. The Inferno (24:35)
  • 5. Cloudy (5:19)
Sold out at source



Total time: 66:22

Originally released 2002

Utilising guitar, tapes, mics, pedals, analogue synthesizer and some computer assistance Drumm has concocted a sonic beast. In doing so one is taken on an intense journey of storming feedback, open audio onslaught and somewhat savaged sonics. The extreme end of anarchic electronics and possibly a hint of musical violence is present throughout the much of the disc. An essential release capturing Drumm at his most ferocious and most inventive. It’s an exhilarating, visceral test of endurance brimming with demonic humor and a tour of Drumm’s ever-expanding sonic palette.
For seasoned noise veterans, Sheer Hellish Miasma offers a bracing soundscape filled with exquisitely abrasive textures and more than enough hidden detail to warrant repeated listening – a distinct voice in the increasingly same-sounding world of abstract electronic noise. For everyone else, Drumm’s journey through the noisy underworld is likely to inspire fear or, in an optimistic case, fearful admiration. This reissue comes with an additional track, 'Impotent Hummer', taken from the same period. A 13 minute drone piece which draws the listener into the forthcoming blizzard.

Revised artwork by Stephen O’Malley.
Re-mastered at Piethopraxis, Köln, December 2006.