EMEGO 290 / Grand River

Blink A Few Times To Clear Your Eyes





A1. Side Lengths (4:19)
A2. Mr. Speaker (4:54)
A3. Canopies (7:11)
A4. Equations For A Falling Body (3:45)

B1. Gold (2:13)
B2. Coordinate Redirects Here (5:41)
B3. Second Half (6:28)
B4. All There Now (7:09)

All tracks composed and produced by Aimée Portioli
Mastered by Giuseppe Tillieci at Enisslab Studio, Rome
Cut by Andreas Kauffelt at Schnittstelle, Berlin
Original artwork by Nathan Melaragno
Typography by Marco Ciceri

After two years since her debut full-length release, Grand River presents her second album “Blink A Few Times To Clear Your Eyes” on Editions Mego.
The 8 track LP shows an evolution towards a more experimental side of the Dutch-Italian composer which is here superbly combined with her ability of creating melodies previously heard on her 2xLP “Pineapple”, released on Spazio Disponibile in 2018.
“Blink A Few Times To Clear Your Eyes” expresses how acoustic instruments can be perfectly merged with electronic and analog synthesizers to become one new organic whole. The composer, whose birth-name is Aimée Portioli, brings the listener along on her personal explorational journey of expressions within a certain genre. The title of the album indicates the desire to explore what is new and see what is around us from different perspectives.
The album opens with the track “Side Lengths”, a complex and dreamy sequence made with one of her favorite synthesizers, the Yamaha DX-7. From there we are brought from extended panoramic sound design and cinematic ambiences, back and forth to synthetic melodies, field recordings, strings and for the first time ever, Aimée’s own modified voice in the closing track “All There Now”.
Recorded primarily at her home base in Berlin, Grand River’s music is pure, magnificent and elegant which documents a solemn atemporal story where her experiences are translated into another language.