Electronic Recordings from Maui Jungle Vol. 1 cover art

EMEGO 215 / Anthony Child

Electronic Recordings from Maui Jungle Vol. 1

  • 1. Bypass Default Mode Network (8:46)
  • 2. Mr Naturals (7:17)
  • 3. A New Moon (9:05)
  • 4. Down in the Gulch (2:01)
  • 5. Watching And Waiting (5:50)
  • 6. Midnight Rain (10:39)
  • 7. The Chief (7:50)
  • 8. The Chief (reprise) (9:22)
  • 9. All Around And Inside (3:54)
  • 10. Eternal Note (15:26)
  • 11. The Way Home (5:30)



Enter Code for DOWNLOAD CODE EMEGO 215


Recorded in Haiku-Pauwela, Maui between 21st January and 8th February 2015

Nancy, Stephanie, Neil, Lucy, Vanessa, Devon, Lily, Amoré, Serious, Duke, Wyatt, Mystic.

Photographs by Lucy Richardson.

Melting our minds for over two decades with his beat-based productions, this time renowned techno-producer Anthony Child aka Surgeon is putting the fundamental components of electronic sound production to the fore. Focussing on the development of timbre and texture, Child creates exquisite drones, that give an insight in his improvisatory sensibility and dig deep into the potentials of modular synthesis,
As the title already indicates, it's a very special setting that he has chosen for this endeavour: The jungle of Maui seems to have acted as a stimulus for this exercise in concentration and trance. The intertwining of the electronic instrument that meets the sublime sounds of nature, opens up an intimate resonant chamber. Birds, insects and raindrops are allowed to break through, while you can sense the thick, humid air and deep colours of the surrounding resonating in the pastose synth lines. Some tracks offer beautifully built overtone-drones, others are structured by playful arpeggios that create a shining bright texture and seduce us into a state of disintegration. At the same time Child gives priority to the graininess of the instrument to emphasise the haptic quality and inner tension of the sounds themselves. In the end these minimalist procedures have been compiled to an unpretentious collection of sonic and atmospheric micro-jewels, inviting us to give ourselves over entirely and exclusively to listening.