All Under cover art

EMEGO 194 / Edvard Graham Lewis

All Under

  • 1. All Under (Film Score) (5:52)
  • 2. All Under (Installation Loop) (10:06)
  • 3. The Eel Wheeled (5:39)
  • 4. No Show Godot (18:17)



Enter Code for DOWNLOAD CODE EMEGO 194

All vocals and instruments recorded and produced by Edvard Graham Lewis at Tip Top Studio, Uppsala,Sweden Between 2003-13

03: Re-mixed version by Thomas Öberg
04: Vocals – Pauline Svanerö, Additional Drones- P.T.Kirk (Akatombo), Additional recording and mixing by Richard Sporrong at Dugout Studios, Uppsala, Sweden

Mastered by Russell Haswell, March 2014
Cut by CGB at D&M, Berlin, March 2014
Original images: Edvard Graham Lewis
Image variations and design: David Coppenhall

01: Film Score and 02: Installation Loop were composed for the film and 3 screen video instillation ‘All Under’ by Gunilla Leander. The film ‘All Under’ was premiered at the Uppsala International Film Festival in 2003. The instillation ‘All Under’ presented at Färgfabriken, Stockholm in 2005 and Baltic Art Centre in 2006.

Thanks to Liv, Klara and Mira…and all who generously contributed.

'All Under', the companion release to 'All Over' compiles soundtracks to films, installations and a self penned short story. This is familiar terrain for Lewis who, along with Bruce Gilbert produced the early interactive audio-visual installation 'MZUI' at London’s Waterloo Gallery in 1981.
Since this period Lewis as been involved in countless soundtracks to all manner of cultural artefacts. The haunting score to Gunilla Leander's 2003 short film 'All Under' was improvised in real time with a sampler and FX processing and recorded on to mini disc. The results are a viscous ambience of swirls, feedback and distortion. This material was then adapted for an immersive 3 screen installation of the same visual material which features combinations of 6 nude bodies (4 men, 2 women) fighting and wrestling, filmed underwater. The soundtrack here crawls further in the depths as electronic phrases swim amongst a foreboding ambience. Both of these works encapsulate the same disembodied effect of the visual material as hovering, uncanny sound worlds seep into the listeners subconscious.
'The Eel Wheeled' features Lewis' reading one of his own bizarre stories underscored with a suitably disorientating soundtrack sourced from sound effects of the Prime Sounds SFX Library. This version was re-mixed by Thomas Öberg (member of Bob Hund and 27#11).
'No Show Godot' concludes the set. A soundtrack to a 'sky movie' (road movies be warned) completed in 2013. Coming out of the initial sub aquatic environments of the opening works, 'No Show Godot' takes us on a spiralling high before folding into a gritty godly industrial mantra which comes along as a perfect means of tying up these two concurrent releases as a symmetrical whole.