The Shivering Man cover art

EMEGO 108 / Bruce Gilbert

The Shivering Man

  • 1. Angel Food (10:43)
  • 2. The Shivering Man (5:34)
  • 3. Net In The Feather (5:51)
  • 4. There Are (6:14)
  • 5. Hommage (2:34)
  • 6. Eline Cout II (4:46)
  • 7. Epitaph For Henran Brenlar (5:08)
  • 8. The Shivering Man (video)* (5:34)




All titles Bruce Gilbert except Eline Cout II: Gilbert/Conway and Epitaph for Henran Brenlar: Gilbert/Lewis

Engineered by John Fryer. Recorded @ Blackwing Studios 
Remastered by Russell Haswell @ Haswell Studio, Suffolk

* Dance-work conceived & choreographed by Angela Conway
Performed by Michael Clark, Julie Hood & Ian Longmuir First broadcast by Channel 4 TV - Alter Image : Series 2 on 5th May 1987

New artwork by Dave Coppenhall

The Shivering Man, originally released in 1986 on Mute (STUMM 39), was Bruce Gilbert’s second solo album. Following on from his 1984 masterpiece This Way (recently reissued as eMEGO 102), it further explores Gilbert's investigations into the grey border where abstract noise and rhythm co-exist with obscure melodies and song structures.
The sound is further expanded with guest vocal appearances by Angela Conway and fellow Wire traveller Graham Lewis.
This is also the first time the complete album is available domestically on CD. Previous CD issues were the This Way to The Shivering Man on Mute (with Net In The Feather, There Are and Eline Cout II missing), and the Japan only 3 CD box with This Way, Shivering Man and Insiding previously released by Alfa Recordings. This 25th Anniversary reissue is remastered by Russell Haswell and contains a re-work by Dave Coppenhall on Angela Conway’s original artwork.
As a bonus a short Angela Conway video featuring Michael Clark originally broadcast in 1987 on Channel 4, has been included.