1-4+5 cover art 1-4+5 cover art

DOME12345 / DOME


Enter Code for DOWNLOAD CARD

B.C. Gilbert & G. Lewis

Floating-point re-master by Russell Haswell, August 2011
Cut at Dubplates & Mastering by Rashad Becker, August 2011
New artwork and layout: Dave Coppenhall

Editions Mego are proud to release the complete recorded works of DOME in a deluxe vinyl box set that that also includes newly designed artwork by David Coppenhall, reproductions of the original Atelier Koninck posters that accompanied Dome 1 and Dome 2, insert with sleeve notes by Howard Jacques and Neil Martinson as well as unseen photos from the period. If that wasn't enough it also contains a matchbox to put matches in to shake along to your favourite Dome tune!

With the demise of the group Wire in 1980, founder members Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis joined forces to create Dome. With the assistance of engineer Eric Radcliffe and his Blackwing Studio Dome took the ethic of “using the studio as a compositional tool” and recorded and released three Dome albums on their own label in the space of 12 months: DOME (July 1980), DOME 2 (October 1980) and DOME 3 (October 1981). A final fourth album, WILL YOU SPEAK THIS WORD: DOME IV was released on the Norwegian Uniton label in May 1983.
These albums represent some of the most beautifuly stark and above all timeless exercises in studio experimentation from early 1980s alternative music scene.

With the re-activation of Wire in 1985 it was thought that all Dome activity had ceased. Whilst no new recordings appeared Dome utilised any spare time to secretly record new pieces. In 1989 dancer/choreographer Michael Clark commissioned them to record a piece for his new ballet ‘Because We Must’. In the same year they also performed live in Rotterdam and Amsterdam.
In 1999 WMO commissioned Dome to record new pieces to accompany the recordings from 1989. This compilation, entitled YCLEPT, would be the final recordings, to date, that Dome have made.
DOME 1-4 appearing on vinyl for the first time in over 30 years, whereas the recordings making up YCLEPT (DOME 5) appear for the first time on vinyl.


Side One
1. Cancel Your Order (Lewis/Gilbert) a, b
2. Cruel When Complete (A.M.C./Gilbert) b, c
3. And Then… (Lewis/Gilbert) a
4. Here We Go (Lewis/Gilbert) c
5. Rolling Upon My Day (Lewis/Gilbert) c

Side Two
6. Say Again (Lewis/Gilbert) a
7. Linasixup (Lewis) c
8. Airmail (Lewis/Gilbert) a
9. Ampnoise (Lewis/Gilbert) a, c
10. Madmen (Lewis/Gilbert) a

Recorded on a,10th March 1980 b, 16th March 1980 c, 1st April 1980
Produced: B.C. Gilbert : G. Lewis
Engineer: Eric Radcliffe. Asst. Engineer: John Fryer
Recorded at Blackwing Studio

B.C. Gilbert: Voices, Guitars, Bass, Percussion, Tapes, Drums
G. Lewis: Voices, Guitars, Bass, Percussion, Tapes, Synthesiser
A.M.C.: Voice: Cruel When Complete


Side One
1. The Red Tent I
2. The Red Tent II
3. Long Lost Life
4. Breathsteps
5. Reading Prof. B

Side Two
6. Ritual View
7. Twist Up
8. Keep it

G. Lewis + B.C. Gilbert. August 1980.
Engineer: Eric Radcliffe. Asst. Engineer: John Fryer.
Recorded at Blackwing Studio


Side One
1. JASZ (Gilbert/Lewis) d, e
2. AR-GU (Gilbert/Lewis) d, e
3. AN-AN-AN-D-D-D (Gilbert/Lewis/A.M.C.) a
4. BA-DR (Gilbert/Lewis) e, f
5. D-D-BO (Gilbert/Lewis) e
6. NA-DRM (Gilbert/Lewis/A.M.C.) b

Side Two
7. UR-UR (Gilbert/Lewis) e, f
8. DANSE (Gilbert/Lewis) d
9. DASZ (Gilbert/Lewis) c, e
10. ROOS-AN (Gilbert/Lewis) c, e

a 13th Nov 1980, b 9th Dec 1980. c 11th Feb 1981, d 21st Mar 1981, e 25-27th May 1981, f 10-11th June 1981

A.M.C. - Voice 1, 2, 6, 9, 10
Peter Price - Drums, Perc. 1, 2, 4, 5, 7
D. O. Miller - Saxophone 1, 5, 7
Russell Mills - Perc. Voice 2, 5
Eric Radcliffe - Guitar 2

Production - Instruments - Voices B.C. Gilbert : G. Lewis
Engineers- Eric Radcliffe - John Fryer. Recorded at Blackwing Studio


Side One
1. To Speak (Gilbert/Lewis/Drinkwater)

Side Two
2. To Walk, To Run (Gilbert/Lewis)
3. To Duck, To Dive (Gilbert/Lewis)
4. This (Gilbert/Lewis)
5. Seven Year (Gilbert/Lewis)
6. Atlas (Gilbert/Lewis)

Instruements: Voices: Production G. Lewis : B.C. Gilbert
Vincent Clarke - Voice, Fairlight Computer Synthesiser 1
Deborah Danahay - Voice 1
David Drinkwater - Violin 1
Terrence Leach - Saxophones 1, 3, 4, 6

Engineers- Eric Radcliffe. Recorded at Blackwing Studio


Side One
1. Virtual Sweden (V.S. #1)
2. Plosive Pluck
3. Because We Must (Version 1)
4. Carpo
5. Vertical Seeding (V.S. #2)
6. Crossh
7. Making A Meeting (Excerpt)

Side Two
8. Gebar
9. Virtuous Speed (V.S. #3)
10. Liver & Lungs
11. Because We Must (Version 2)

1,5, & 9 Recorded and mixed at New Barnet, England and Uppsala, Sweden December 1998 - March 1999 by Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis
2, 3, 4, 6, 10 Recorded at Blackwing Studio, London November 1989. Engineered by John Fryer
7 Recorded live at Theater Lantaren, Rotterdam, April 1983. Live direction and mix b Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis. Performed with members of Rotterdam Conservatorium
8 Recorded at Terminal 24, London July 1988. Engineered by Rico Conning
11 Recorded at Blackwing Studio, London November 1989. Engineered by John Fryer
Commissioned by Michael Clark for Channel 4 broadcast of Because We Must. Based on performance at Sadler's Wells Theatre, London. December 1989. First broadcast December 1989

All tracks written by Bruce Gilbert and Graham Lewis

DOME discography

DOME LP (Dome Records—DOME 1—July 1980)
DOME 2 LP (Dome Records —DOME 2—October 1980)
DOME 3 LP (Dome Records —DOME 3—October 1981)
DOME12 CD (The Grey Area Of Mute Records– Dome12CD – August 1992)
DOME 34 CD (The Grey Area Of Mute Records – Dome34CD – August 1992)
YCLEPT CD (WMO—WMO 9CD—November 1999)
DOME 1-4 + 5 5LP Box (Editions Mego - DOME12345 - December 2011)

Other GILBERT / LEWIS releases
CUPOL - Like This For Ages/Kluba Cupol 12” (4AD—BAD 9—July 1980)
3R4 LP (4AD—CAD 16—October 1980)
Ends With The Sea/Hung Up To Dry Whilst Building An Arch 7” (4AD—AD 106—August 1981)
MZUI LP (Cherry Red—BRED 27—May 1982)
DUET EMMO - Or So It Seems/Heart Of Hearts 12” (Mute—12MUTE 025—March 1983)
DUET EMMO - OR SO IT SEEMS LP (Mute—STUMM 11—August 1983)
8 TIME CD (4AD—CAD 16CD—April 1988)
DUET EMMO - OR SO IT SEEMS CD (Mute Records—STUMM 11CD—August 1992)
PACIFIC/SPECIFIC (in a different place) (WMO—WMO 3CD—November 1995)